Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Hallmark E-Card Phishing Alert

I just received an email (look at picture below)
First look, it seem like a legit email from Hallmark. However, there are a few things a miss:
1. Normally hallmark will put the name of the person sending the ecard, however, in this email, there is no mention of the person that sent it.

2. From email address will be the email of the person sending the email and not some hallmark email address

3. When you mouse over the link, you should note that a real e-card from hallmark will contain "http://hallmark.com/" followed by some characters linking to the webpage where you can view your ecard. You see that in the picture above, when i mouse over, the link is actually an exe file. (http://halmarks[dot]info/hallmark[dot]gif[dot]exe) Notice the spelling of hallmark is wrong, also note the file is an executable and it is always a security thread to run exe off the internet.

For more about hallmark e-card fraud alert. You can check out this link

glo ~ Good Life Offers! Great Deals, Great Offers, Vouchers, Coupons, Discounts and lots more